Skip to content

Carrots Galore! Carrot Soup, The Joys of Juicing & Carrot Pulp Spice Bread

October 4, 2009

My CSA* box over the summer provided me with a HUGE abundance of carrots. In fact, at one point I had so many carrots in my refrigerator that one drawer was basically devoted to them. I should have taken a picture of them so you would believe me!

* A CSA, in case you don’t know, is Consumer Supported agriculture–that means I bought a share into a farm and get a dividend each week in whatever is being produced.

It’s not that I don’t like carrots, because I do–raw ones, not cooked ones. I just never seem to get around to scrubbing them clean and eating them. When I’m on a road trip, I love to snack on them; I have found they’re great for keeping me awake and alert while driving at night. I’ll usually pick up some sweet nantes which I can eat straight out of the bag. If I don’t eat them all, when I get home, they’ll join the others in the drawer.

Two events saved the day, or at least saved my refrigerator space: someone loaned me a juicer and I made carrot soup.

One of the reasons I finally got around to making the soup was because after my husband had lip cancer and plastic reconstructive surgery, he had to drink everything through a straw. It’s almost three weeks later, and he’s still eating soft foods and lots of soups. And carrot juice and carrot products are super cancer fighting foods!

So I boned a chicken carcass, put the carcass on the stove in some water, and started chopping carrots and other CSA vegetables–onions first (four smaller mild red ones) then garlic. I put all the ends and skins in the soup pot and sauteed the finely chopped onion and garlic in butter and olive oil in a giant iron skillet. Then I went for the carrots: as I sliced them, ends went in the soup pot and the slices went into the iron skillet until I could fit little else. I managed to add a half dozen CSA red potatoes cut into small pieces. Then I added a healthy amount of cumin, turmeric, and oregano with a little kosher salt and black pepper.

Then I scavenged my refrigerator, looking for sad, forgotten, limp, unloved vegetables hiding in the corners. The bunch of basil went in the soup pot, the kale stems went in the soup and the chopped greens I reserved for later. A large soft chunk of ginger went into the soup pot. Some soft garlic. You get the picture.

As the vegetables needed liquid to cook, I brought it over a cup at a time from the soup pot. When the vegies were soft and cooked, I strained the soup pot for the broth. Then I put vegies, broth, and about a cup of cream in the blender. It was so good that way that I blended it all–and I look forward to making it again!

But we still had a lot of carrots left. Friends loaned me their blender, and on a Sunday morning, I set it up and my son and I went at it: I prepped the carrots and he juiced them. He loved doing it so much that soon most of the carrots were gone–turned into juice and pulp–and he declared that he wanted a juicer for his 6th birthday present!

It was easy to know what to do with the juice–drink it! But what about the pulp? I hated to just put it in the compost. I went searching on the net and found a few sites with recipes for carrot pulp. It seems that it’s very similar to pumpkin in a recipe. I’m going to try my carrot recipe above using pulp and see how it goes, and I want to see what happens with a pumpkin soup recipe if I substitute carrot pulp for pumpkin.

This following recipe for Carrot Pulp Bread comes from the book Carrot Pulp Cookery; I found the recipe as part of the review of the book on Mother Earth News. I adapted it quite a bit as you’ll see below from my notes.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan. Mix together:
2/3 cup of vegetable oil
3/4 cup of honey
* The first time I made this, I used 2/3 C melted butter and 3/4 honey; it was too rich and too sweet, more like a dessert. This time, I used 1/2 C melted butter, 1/2 C honey, 1/4 C unsulphured molasses and it came out it more breadlike.)

Add and beat together:
2 eggs

Add and mix:
1-1 /2 cups of carrot pulp
* Both times I used nearly 2 C pulp, lightly packed.

1-1 /2 cups of whole wheat flour
* I used 1 C whole wheat flour, 1/2 C almond meal, 1/2 C flax meal)
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
* I added 1 tsp ginger; you could also use pumpkin pie spice.
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of sea salt (optional)

At the end add-ins: I toasted 1/2 c walnuts and added them along with 3/4 C raisins. You could probably have success with similar proportions of other dried fruits and nuts.

I found the batter stiff: be careful not to overmix (be gentle!). I was concerned that the results would be too dry but instead it was so moist it took nearly 90 minutes to cook the first time and 75 minutes the second time; recommended cooking time is 60-65 minutes at an oven preheated to 350 degrees.

Pour the resulting concoction into a greased (I used butter) loaf pan (measuring approximately 8-1/2″ X 4-1/2″ X 2-5/8″). I sprinkled untoasted walnuts on top.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 2:14 am

    I juice carrots every day – it has become a staple in our house. We go through a LOT of carrots each week – probably about 15 lbs.

    It’s good for many things, including your skin and eyes. I haven’t seen a recipe using the pulp before – what a good idea. Thanks!

  2. October 5, 2009 5:32 am

    wow–that’s a lot of carrots!

    I’ll try to post here and let you know how my carrot pulp experiment goes–I have about 6C o carrot pulp right now in my freezer

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 5th Bloggoversary to Art Predator! « art predator

Leave a Reply

MOMtertainment

Because even busy moms need to entertain!

Burners.Me: Me, Burners and The Man

Where our opinions, Burner culture, and Burning Man come together

Black Rock City Census

A fine WordPress.com site

Sheila Louise Photo

Just a hippy photographer living in Ojai

Traveling Wine Chick

This chick goes all over the world and buys her own drinks!

L'esprit de Vin

A wine blog with food for thought...

The Wine Wankers

Smile :) You’re at the best wine blog ever! Scroll down to read our fun stories, and join our journey as we fight through the wine jargon in search of a good glass of wine. Wine blogs; the best place to read about wine online! We're rated as one of the most influential wine people on the net by Klout and Kred. Contact: winewankers@hotmail.com

Wine Verbiage

verbiage about wine & life

SQUIRREL AND EARLY BIRD HIKE THE PCT 2014

Follow our 2,650 mile migration from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

Small Epiphanies

A BLOG BY GRAHAM WAYNE

Paul's Therapeutic Reflections

Thoughts about writing about thinking

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cycling, travel, family, and math.

Winehiker Witiculture

Hike. Wine. Repeat! An exploration of life's vinoambulocentricities.

Gabrielle Bryden's Blog

poetry, stories, puffnstuff

Calicocoa's KittyBlog

Just another WordPress.com site

New Earth Heartbeat

Aligning with the Heartbeat of the New Earth

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

Whole Hog Marvels

Thus, bit by bit, the world is swallow'd

The Mind's Eye Photo Workshops

Don't just take photos - Make them.

tracyshaun

poet, running naked through the wilderness

Hawk Wakawaka Wine Reviews

Described as "A New Standard for Wine Reviews" by @kermitlynchwine

new mexico storyboards and art to go

storyboards, concept art, murals, backdrops, original art and fakes to go

Fowkes Studios

Studio Pottery

whisper down the write alley

gwendolyn alley, writing coach & college teacher

Paprika & Pinot

an exploration of food and wine

gingatao

the radiant geometry of language

Cellar-Book // by Keith Levenberg

“Wine is an excellent accompaniment to food; but it is a better accompaniment to thought.” --Roger Scruton

wine predator

on the prowl for wine, food & adventure est. 2009

Betsy's Blog

musings on psyche and nature

GuerrillaReads

The online video literary magazine

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Ventura Buddhist Center An Lac Mission

Buddhism in Ventura County, CA

Distracted Astrologer

As above, so bel—oh look, kittens.

Compassionate Rebel

“One who hears the cries of the world”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

