Skip to content

Some winery inspired poetry from Ridge’s blog by Christopher Watkins

July 27, 2009

 up on the Ridge at Ridge in the Santa Cruz Mountains On my way up to the  Wine Bloggers Conference 2009 in Santa Rosa Sonoma County CA, I stopped at Ridge. Even though Ridge is probably my favorite winery in Caliornia, partly because I got my start there and partly because they make GREAT wine, I haven’t been back since my last day working in the tasting room a million years ago.

It’s changed quite a bit. For one, there is a tasting room, not just a picnic table set up outside. And there are lots more picnic tables, many of them under a shade structure.

The views are the same–spectacular–and so is the wine. Honestly, I’d forgotten how wonderful it feels up there close to the sky, looking out over the fog fingers to the mountains ringing the SF Bay. And the wine, everything I tasted was lovely, full of perfect impressions of pleasure onto my palate.

I was spurred to visit for several reasons, one being that I discovered Ridge’s blog recently–it was started only a few months ago–and I really liked the writing there.

So I was overjoyed when, even though the tasting room is officially only open on weekends, they let me in–and I spent some time tasting wine and talking wine, writing, and blogging with tasting room manager and chief Ridge blogger, Christopher Watkins, who has an MFA in poetry.Ridge tasting area

For his one year anniversary at Ridge, he posted a series of poems about life about there. So, in honor of the Wine Blogger’s Conference, and for this week’s edition of the poetry train, instead of offering some of my poetry, I give you Christopher Watkins, who I will be nominating for a wine blogger award next year. Enjoy.

Crisp autumn morning;
a deer heart’s worth of inno-
cence stirs my soul.

In a clearing, the
new wind reminds me, you can
fall off a mountain.

At the insistence
of the wind, thin mountain brush
fidgets, pointing east.

Birdless, the wind-swept
air; snakeless, the cold, dry soil;
empty, my mouth, of words.

As might a painter’s
palette imitate the sky,
I try the mountain.

The wind, stripping our
revisions away, reveals
the first masterpiece.

Stone greets vine-root, brush
greets breeze, sun greets fog  — Grateful,
I take autumn’s hand.

If terroir is a
sense of place, then my soul is
a moveable wine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 7:49 am

    The view is amazing and so is the poem by Watkins… soft and gentle

  2. July 28, 2009 2:39 pm

    i think
    i am the first coment in this post
    am I??

    ilyas afsoh
    from indonesia
    :)

  3. wrtish permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:56 pm

    Nice stuff. I just was asking someone the other day: when was the last time you’d seen a poem about wine.

  4. July 29, 2009 1:38 am

    In vino veritas!

Leave a Reply

Paul's Therapeutic Reflections

Thoughts about writing about thinking

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cyclilng, travel, family, and math.

Winehiker Witiculture

Hike. Wine. Repeat! An exploration of life's vinoambulocentricities.

Gabrielle Bryden's Blog

poetry, stories, puffnstuff

Calicocoa's KittyBlog

Just another WordPress.com site

New Earth Heartbeat

Aligning with the Heartbeat of the New Earth

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

The Mind's Eye Photo Workshops

Don't just take photos - Make them.

Whole Hog Marvels

Thus, bit by bit, the world is swallow'd

Hawk Wakawaka Wine Reviews

Described as "A New Standard for Wine Reviews" by @kermitlynchwine

tracyshaun

poet, running naked through the wilderness

Fowkes Studios

Studio Pottery

new mexico storyboards and art to go

storyboards, concept art, murals, backdrops, original art and fakes to go

whisper down the write alley

gwendolyn alley, writing coach & college teacher

Paprika & Pinot

an exploration of food and wine

gingatao

the radiant geometry of language

Cellar-Book // by Keith Levenberg

“Wine is an excellent accompaniment to food; but it is a better accompaniment to thought.” --Roger Scruton

wine predator

on the prowl for wine, food & adventure

Betsy's Blog

musings on psyche and nature

GuerrillaReads

The online video literary magazine

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

Ventura Buddhist Center An Lac Mission

Buddhism in Ventura County, CA

Distracted Astrologer

As above, so bel—oh look, kittens.

Compassionate Rebel

“One who hears the cries of the world”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers

