Skip to content

Art Predator: I Want “A Really Goode Job”

June 17, 2009

Murphy-Goode wineJust over a month ago, Queensland Tourism announced Ben Southall Gets Best Job in the World!

Which meant that Art Predator did not. And for those of you who follow this blog (and there are a lot of you, lurkers and commentors alike), you know my huge disappointment. You likely recall that I wrote a lot about Australia (not just my typical AUS wine posts!) and the Great Barrier Reef  in the weeks leading up to that announcement–posts that, I must admit, have very long tails and continue to be quite active.

In the same post, I mentioned that Murphy-Goode was a week or so into a contest looking for a “Wine Country Lifestyle Correspondent,” and I wondered whether I should throw my hat into the ring. I even bought a bottle of 2005 Murphy-Goode Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon at the Ventura Wine Store on Telephone.

But I was still licking my wound, letting the warm consoling words of friends wash over and heal me.

Until now. Yes, friends Helen and Dave have been after me to apply ever since I told them about the Murphy-Goode wine blogging and social media job while we were en route to the Delicious Wine Tasting in Santa Monica. Dave keeps giving me that “I’ll never forgive you if you don’t apply” look. So I’ve decided to go for it.

One minute video applications are due Friday June 19 at midnight, California time. I’ve got my script ready, and my lines rehearsed. Some filming and editing is done, my friends and family are lined up, and the tritip is marinating for the fine dinner party we’re going to have with some Murphy-Goode wine up at my mom’s house.

And then. And then.

And then I’m cruising the internet and find this: a wine marketing think tank, VinTank, has already vetted the existing candidates, chosen their favorites, and even helped them promote their candidacy. At one point, they even offered Murphy-Goode $100,000 in services if M-G chose one of their favorites!!

Hello? Murphy-Goode Dream Job? My dream has been squelched before I even finished my video!

OK, I admit, this is a great way for VinTank to draw attention to their white paper on the wine business and social media. And one of the candidates they chose (Todd Havens) was one I chose and even featured on my blog in this post: Art Predator Gets Best Mom, Ben Southall Gets Best Job in the World!

Yep, he’s really good. And his video is really good–or is that goode?

Anyway, now I am in a quandary. The invites are out. Friends and family have made plans. I’m looking forward to seeing them, to enjoying the great meal I have planned, and to drinking this Murphy-Goode wine I bought!

So–The party’s is ON!!

PS And you know it–you will be the first to know how it goes! I am counting on you, my faithful readers, to vote and support my candidacy! Together we can do it, we can put the Art Predator to work at a Really Goode job!

And, if you get a chance, drop those folks over at VinTank a note and ask them to save a spot for the Art Predator. They won’t regret it!

UPDATE: Here’s the you tube link to my Wine Country Lifestyle Correspondent video application we shot that night:

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 10:32 am

    Go you! That is another perfect job for you. Which linkages do I click?

  2. June 17, 2009 3:45 pm

    Thanks, Paul! I’ll let you know when my video is up on the site and you can lead the stampede to vote!

  3. June 17, 2009 6:21 pm

    Gwendolyn Alley,
    Thank you for the mention, like my response on our blog, you still have a strong chance to win MG’s job despite our support of 8 candidates. We and the VinTank4+ are here to assist you as well despite you not being one of our picks. We want you and all others to enter the wine industry as digital marketing professionals.
    P

  4. June 17, 2009 7:03 pm

    Paul Mabray,

    Thank you for the generous offer to assist me! How exciting! I look forward to learning from you starting with reading your white paper on your site!

    best, Gwendolyn Alley aka Art Predator aka Wine Predator

  5. June 17, 2009 10:35 pm

    Hi Gwendolyn!

    Wow. First off, thanks for the love for my video. I saw it over at your companion winepredator blog. I totally appreciate your kind words.

    Paul Mabray beat me to it, but I was also going to clarify that Murphy-Goode has said many times over that the VinTank’s endorsements have nothing to do with their own selection process. So enjoy that great meal and Murphy-Goode cab and please post a link when your video is live so we can all check it out and vote.

    Also, VinTank is offering the same level of consulting support to WHOMEVER Murphy-Goode ultimately chooses. What helps one winery move into social media, helps the whole industry.

    As an FYI, they’ve been saying that it takes about 48 hours right now for submitted vids to show up on the AReallyGoodeJob.com site so you might want to keep that in mind in terms of looking for it/stressing/etc. after you’ve uploaded.

    And great vid submission for the island gig, P.S.!

  6. June 18, 2009 5:10 am

    Thanks, Todd, for stopping by!

    Your video really is pro–no surprise as you’re a USC film school grad!

    And thanks for adding your 2c about VinTank and their willingness to support and develop moving the wine industry into adapting social media strategies.

    And thanks, one more time! Glad you liked my Island Reef Job video!

  7. June 18, 2009 9:18 pm

    I think you and I may be kindred souls…you use exclamation points as much as I do! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Wine Predator: Going for A Really Goode Job « Wine Predator
  2. Social Media and the Wine Country Lifestyle — one year later « Andy's Goode Life Blog

Leave a Reply

Thoughts From The Wine World

TERO Estates, Flying Trout Wines and Waters Winery

L'esprit de Vin

A wine blog with food for thought...

The Wine Wankers

Smile :) You’re at the best wine blog ever! Scroll down to read our fun stories, and join our journey as we fight through the wine jargon in search of a good glass of wine. Wine blogs; the best place to read about wine online! We're rated as one of the most infuential wine people on the net by Klout and Kred. Contact: winewankers@hotmail.com

Wine Verbiage

verbiage about wine & life

SQUIRREL AND EARLY BIRD HIKE THE PCT 2014

Follow our 2,650 mile migration from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

Small Epiphanies

A BLOG BY GRAHAM WAYNE

Paul's Therapeutic Reflections

Thoughts about writing about thinking

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cycling, travel, family, and math.

Winehiker Witiculture

Hike. Wine. Repeat! An exploration of life's vinoambulocentricities.

Gabrielle Bryden's Blog

poetry, stories, puffnstuff

Calicocoa's KittyBlog

Just another WordPress.com site

New Earth Heartbeat

Aligning with the Heartbeat of the New Earth

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

The Mind's Eye Photo Workshops

Don't just take photos - Make them.

Whole Hog Marvels

Thus, bit by bit, the world is swallow'd

tracyshaun

poet, running naked through the wilderness

Hawk Wakawaka Wine Reviews

Described as "A New Standard for Wine Reviews" by @kermitlynchwine

Fowkes Studios

Studio Pottery

new mexico storyboards and art to go

storyboards, concept art, murals, backdrops, original art and fakes to go

whisper down the write alley

gwendolyn alley, writing coach & college teacher

Paprika & Pinot

an exploration of food and wine

gingatao

the radiant geometry of language

Cellar-Book // by Keith Levenberg

“Wine is an excellent accompaniment to food; but it is a better accompaniment to thought.” --Roger Scruton

wine predator

on the prowl for wine, food & adventure est. 2009

Betsy's Blog

musings on psyche and nature

GuerrillaReads

The online video literary magazine

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

Ventura Buddhist Center An Lac Mission

Buddhism in Ventura County, CA

Distracted Astrologer

As above, so bel—oh look, kittens.

Compassionate Rebel

“One who hears the cries of the world”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

