Skip to content

Wine, wine, wine & Alice too

October 30, 2008

“Wine, wine, wine–pass that bottle to me!” sing it to me,  Sticks McGee with Brownie McGee helping out on guitar and vocals. Then on the flip side, “I’d Rather Drink Muddy Water…”

After the two blogging sessions at the Wine Bloggers Conference, it was back to drinking with a tasting of Sonoma wines with well over 200 wines in the room and at least 30-40 wineries pouring.

I tried to save myself from temptation but I succumbed–and I dumped wine into the bucket too, sacriligious but absolutely necessary. I even saw folks carrying around small plastic cups for spitting into.

So instead of attempting any sort of catalogue, I will merely mention two small, memorable wineries with a limited selection poured by the passionate winemakers themselves: Enkidu and Verge. From the Enkidu website, I found that the origin or meaning of the name “Enkidu” comes from the oldest story ever written, the Epic of Gilgamesh. The story originated in Sumeria (Iraq) almost 4,000 years ago, which fittingly was the birthplace of wine. Enkidu, created by the gods, was the lover of land and protector of animals. He embodied strength and passion, with incredible bravery, and yet at times was truly fearful of unknown dangers.

Enkidu was told by the sacred slave: “Eat bread, oh, Enkidu! It is the fountain of life; drink the wine, it is the custom of the land.” Then Enkidu ate the bread till he was full, drank the wine, seven goblets…” http://www.ancienttexts.org/library/mesopotamian/gilgamesh/tab2.htm

How can you go wrong quoting Gilgamesh? Enkidu was also featured at the kickoff lunch at Kick Ranch–but I had barely left home to drive up there when that gathering was coming to a close, so I was pleased to get a chance to try a selection of their classy wines:

2005 Odyssey Syrah Tasting Notes -Download-
2006 Humbaba Rhone Blend Tasting Notes -Download-
2006 Tina Marie Pinot Noir Tasting Notes -Download-
Verge Pours Syrah

Verge Pours Syrah

When I asked people which wines they remembered from the event, several people mentioned being impressed with Verge (their table is pictured above; the photo came from their site). Here’s a quote from their manifesto:

Syrah, long in the shadow of the evil twins of greed and false devotion, Cabernet Sauvignon and Pinot Noir, is hereby declared the world’s finest grape varietal with no second or equal.

Syrah, a vigorous vine indeed, must suffer and strain to produce great wines but can only do so when planted far from the likes of the fertile valley.

Syrah, when found on the outlying tracts of viticultural areas, in the hills, off the back roads, next to forests and the natural habitats of insects, mammals and fowl, on the fringe, is supremely good.

Syrah, when grown organically or biodynamically in this type of place, is intrinsically superior. Why continue the use of harmful agrichemicals?

I knew right away these were my kinda people! I certainly intend to keep track of what they are up to!

And instead of going on about Alice Feiring’s brief keynote at Sebastiani to her fellow “pot stirrers,” I will refer you to Tom Wark’s reverential post on his Fermentation blog “The Battle for Wine and How I Fell in Love with Alice Feiring.” I do intend to review her book sometime soon…

In fact, what I really want to talk about in this post is the after party!

Indeed, after drinking much of the day, I was trying to get caught up on email and write a post or two when again I found myself distracted by cases of wine rolling by and rolling by and rolling by–right into the room behind me. Of course ART PREDATOR had to investigate. Inside was a full-on party with maybe a hundred bottles of wine open and another hundred at the ready. King of it all was a sommelier in training who had won the blind tasting and who had a birthday the previous week. Doug Cook, according to Alice Feiring, has developed what he is calling the Google of the wine world. Deb Harkness of Good Wine for Under $20 graciously poured small tastes to all who offered up a glass.

He had brought various selections from his cellar to share with us–and the Queen, Alice Feiring herself, who sat, it seemed, impervious to our enthusiasm for every pour except one bottle, a jeroboam which was corked (ohh, what I would give for a photo of her delicate face when she took a big whiff of that corked wine!)

The first wine I recall was a lovely German 2006 Blanc de Noir by Paul Anheuser…

and at some point there was a 1999 Bartolo Mascarello Barolo…

…and the last a French chenin blanc that tasted like heaven, a kiss from the mouth of a god, honeysuckle, rose geranium, sweetly light and delicate, and so lovely I almost swooned.

In between the wines flew fast and furious,  bottles he uncorked and some that others brought, like two of my favorites, Twisted Oak’s The Spaniard and River of Skulls. I think I may have discovered a fondness for wines of the Loire Valley which may be a dangerous thing indeed.

By the end of the night, the room was full of purple smiles: we all looked like we were from some grim Halloween feature with our purple teeth (from wine of course not blood!)

It was quite the wine education, a chance of a life time, especially with the tasting notes and assistance of compadres Elodie and Beverly and many others whose names have washed away with the wine, and whose cards will float up one day…

Afterwards, I helped cleanup…and I loaded into my car several cases of partially full bottles of wine with the intention of sharing the wealth!

“I got a nickel  you got a dime let’s get together and get some wine!”

Thanks again to birthday boy, Doug Cook!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason permalink
    October 30, 2008 11:31 pm

    Ok. Scootie-ootie.
    Just the fact that there IS a Wine Blogger’s Conference . . .

    please.

    Bliss is a four letter word.
    W-I-N-E

  2. October 31, 2008 3:04 am

    I am so glad you commented on my blog. I would never have known about your blog otherwise, and I am so glad I do! You are now bookmarked into my favorites. It’s a great source of information for someone who drinks rarely, and wants that glass of wine to be supurb. :-)

  3. October 31, 2008 5:51 pm

    I was in a daze @ the Sonoma Grand– something of a mistake to stop spitting when I joined the anti-conference by the pool that Sturday afternoon.
    Either Joe’WineDude’Roberts or Mike’Caveman’Wangbickler or both recommended Verge & I never got there. Think all I tried were a couple Pinots. Scary blank.

  4. October 31, 2008 7:32 pm

    Jason, bliss is a 5 letter word…glad you’re in English and ES and not accounting!

    intixpatr, I’m glad you like what you found–there’s all kind of stuff mixed up in this blog! and I’m glad I found your blog too! were those gyrfalcons they were hunting with? I might have to get out one of my falcon books and go back to your blog and see for myself!

    David, I knew I had to pass that party up if I was going to make it through the night!

    Hmmn, I thought I talked with you about Verge at Sebastiani! You should make a point of connecting with them before you leave the area. Like minds and all that.

    and I have to admit, I didn’t spit once. And thanks to reasonable pours (esp at Doug’s party!), I rarely had to dump.

Trackbacks

  1. Final Thoughts on WBC 2008 | Caveman Wines

Leave a Reply

Thoughts From The Wine World

TERO Estates, Flying Trout Wines and Waters Winery

L'esprit de Vin

A wine blog with food for thought...

The Wine Wankers

Smile :) You’re at the best wine blog ever! Scroll down to read our fun stories, and join our journey as we fight through the wine jargon in search of a good glass of wine. Wine blogs; the best place to read about wine online! We're rated as one of the most infuential wine people on the net by Klout and Kred. Contact: winewankers@hotmail.com

Wine Verbiage

verbiage about wine & life

SQUIRREL AND EARLY BIRD HIKE THE PCT 2014

Follow our 2,650 mile migration from Mexico to Canada on the Pacific Crest Trail

Small Epiphanies

A BLOG BY GRAHAM WAYNE

Paul's Therapeutic Reflections

Thoughts about writing about thinking

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cycling, travel, family, and math.

Winehiker Witiculture

Hike. Wine. Repeat! An exploration of life's vinoambulocentricities.

Gabrielle Bryden's Blog

poetry, stories, puffnstuff

Calicocoa's KittyBlog

Just another WordPress.com site

New Earth Heartbeat

Aligning with the Heartbeat of the New Earth

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

The Mind's Eye Photo Workshops

Don't just take photos - Make them.

Whole Hog Marvels

Thus, bit by bit, the world is swallow'd

tracyshaun

poet, running naked through the wilderness

Hawk Wakawaka Wine Reviews

Described as "A New Standard for Wine Reviews" by @kermitlynchwine

Fowkes Studios

Studio Pottery

new mexico storyboards and art to go

storyboards, concept art, murals, backdrops, original art and fakes to go

whisper down the write alley

gwendolyn alley, writing coach & college teacher

Paprika & Pinot

an exploration of food and wine

gingatao

the radiant geometry of language

Cellar-Book // by Keith Levenberg

“Wine is an excellent accompaniment to food; but it is a better accompaniment to thought.” --Roger Scruton

wine predator

on the prowl for wine, food & adventure est. 2009

Betsy's Blog

musings on psyche and nature

GuerrillaReads

The online video literary magazine

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Ventura Buddhist Center An Lac Mission

Buddhism in Ventura County, CA

Distracted Astrologer

As above, so bel—oh look, kittens.

Compassionate Rebel

“One who hears the cries of the world”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

